New Mexico Motorcycle Laws
Rio Rancho Injury Attorney Explains the Law
Attorney Brad Goodwin has created a summary of some of the most important
New Mexico laws that concern motorcycling.
Note that as there is a possibility that motorcycle laws may be amended,
modified or altered at any time, it is very important that you consult
with a qualified Albuquerque motorcycle accident lawyer for information
on the current status of important motorcycle laws.
Call our New Mexico motorcycle accident lawyer, Brad Goodwin at
for a free consultation.
New Mexico Motorcycle Helmet Law
Under section 66-7-356 of the New Mexico statutes, a person 18 years of
age or older is not legally required to wear a protective helmet while
riding a motorcycle. However, all persons under the age of 18 must wear
a motorcycle helmet.
Protective Eye Gear
Under Section 66-7-355 of the New Mexico statutes, a motorcycle rider who
does not have a fixed windshield must wear protective eye gear which may
be attached to a safety helmet, goggles or safety eyeglasses.
Under Section 66-7-355 of the New Mexico statutes, a passenger may not
ride on a motorcycle unless the motorcycle is designed to carry more than
one person and the passenger must have his or her feet upon the footrest
attached for passenger use.
Mandatory Insurance Requirements
Under New Mexico law, a motorcycle must carry minimum liability insurance
limits of $25,000.00/50,000.00 per person. Liability insurance is insurance
that will protect a motorcycle rider if sued for causing personal injury
or property damage to another person while on a motorcycle.
If you have a question about New Mexico laws about motorcycle accidents,
cyclists, insurance or traffic laws, please
contact Rio Rancho motorcycle accident lawyer,
Brad Goodwin today!